World Academy of Carpatho-Rusyn Culture


Carpathian Mountains

Carpathian Mountains — a major mountain system in Europe stretching about 1,500 kilometers and connecting in a broad arc the Alps with the Balkan peninsula. In terms of present-day political boundaries the Carpathians begin in western Slovakia just north of Bratislava and along the boundary with the Czech Republic. They continue eastward through Slovakia, southeastern Poland (the *Lemko Region), the *Transcarpathian oblast/*Subcarpathian Rus’ of Ukraine, and southward into Romania, where they turn abruptly westward and end near the Danube River at the passage known as the Iron Gates. The mountain chain is divided geographically into three basic parts: the Western Carpathians (in Slovakia and Poland); the Eastern Carpathians (in Ukraine and Romania); and the Southern Carpathians (in southern Romania). The great arc of the Carpathians is a kind of complement to the northern branch of the Alpine belt; its highest peak is Gerlachovsky stit (2,655 meters) in the Tatra range in Slovakia. Among the highest peaks in those ranges of the Carpathians inhabited by Rusyns (all on the southern slopes) are: Hoverla (2061 m.), Pop Ivan (2026 m.), Petros (2020 m.), Blyznytsia (1881 m.), and Popadia (1742 m.), which are all in the eastern part of Subcarpathian Rus’. The highest peaks in the Rusyn-inhabited *Presov Region of eastern Slovakia are Cierna (1289 m.), Siminy (1289 m.), and Mincol (1157 m.). See also Geography.

Ivan Pop

Entry courtesy of Encyclopedia of Rusyn History and Culture.

 Copyright © 2013